Useful Idiots

I think back to the times when I sat in a classroom of public schooling, hating life for being there and loving life for being there.  It was better than being at home.  But later, I also found that home did a shit job of prepping me for anything except violence crisis center situations.  Fuck it.  This is about observation.  This is about you and what you think is normal.  By the way, this site editor sure as shit notices when I spell something wrong, but doesn’t give a damn when I use the tab key.  Just zones me off somewhere else…  bastards.

If you are young enough to be sitting in a classroom, I want you to know exactly why you are there.  If I were speaking to you in person, in front of you right now, I’d tell you exactly why you are here.  The answer is probably not what you think.  Maybe it is.  I always hated projection.

You don’t have a choice.  I didn’t have a choice.  My parents didn’t have a choice either.  But that’s not the point.  Just because other people tolerated something really stupid does not mean it is right.  Or that you even have the ideas or thoughts to be able to know the difference.  I don’t expect that you would or do.  Overall, on most of your thoughts and ideas, I can pretty well guarantee you are wrong, and will end up fairly miserable and angry towards the end of your life.  You will rely on your children and their legacy to give your sorry lives meaning to justify all the stupid shit you did.  At the center of it, it is because you didn’t question things yourself.  Instead, you asked the questions people told you to question.

So why are you here?  Why are you in a classroom full of other people like you but different?

Often I find it useful, when looking for answers, to ask the inverse and opposite question of what I am trying to figure out.  So, if you are not here, where would you be?  And what would happen to you if you stayed there doing whatever it is you want to be doing?

Most of you are not mass murderers, killers or crazy sociopaths on a mission to make other peoples lives miserable.  Most of you are, quite honestly, too boring for that.  Too ok with what you are given.  Regardless, what would you be doing right now if you were not here because you had to be?

The answers are endless.  The result is uniform.  You would be in trouble.  If your parents stood behind your decision to not be in school, especially indefinitely, they would be in trouble.  In fact, they would end up in jail if they simply tried to take complete responsibility for their children.

And they don’t even question it, or why they do it.

 

A person, actually a few people from different past regimes in history have made something very clear:  Give me your children and I will own you.  (It’s a paraphrasing situation, but it is true)  They all knew if you want to kill everyone who threatens you, all you have to is take the threat away.  The easiest way to do that is to make sure no one sees you as a threat.

Years ago, somebody told a lot of people to go kill a lot of other people.  So a lot of people went and killed a lot of other people.

If you get up and decide to kill a lot of people, it is wrong and you will get killed for it.

 

Please tell me what the difference is?  Are some people aliens and others not?

Who is right?  The winners or the losers?  Are losers always wrong?  Are winners always right?  How are you going to create value in society with the ability to properly diagram out a sentence?  You have had 12 years of public education but you will make nothing more than minimum wage in the market that they told you schooling was supposed to help you with…  What if you had twelve straight years of computer programming?  What about twelve straight years of math and engineering?  Fuck social studies, they lie all the time anyway…

I’m thrilled to see people I got to know growing and moving ahead.  At the core of so much of it, including my own leaps, is the willingness to stop a moment and question- stay curious..  It only gets more interesting as the curiosity grows.  With each project and with each step it only opens more doors while expanding exponentially the types of questions I would have for the universe, which, inversely, is myself.  At the end of it all, I see a bunch of self-motivated young kids who bring to their world that gnawing curiosity we all have.  Stepping outside the matrix for a glimpse of the real.  Creating instead of consuming.  Being in Action instead of inaction.

 

Thrive.

 

One thought on “Useful Idiots

  1. Asking the inverse and opposite question of what you are trying to figure out is a brilliant and often very helpful tool! Particularly in a world where it can be an easy tendency to drill down into the negative rabbit hole. Getting the question right is over half the battle 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment